Premier League top scorers 2020-21: Salah, Kane & Son lead

There is no shortage of competition in the goalscoring charts, with candidates from Liverpool, Manchester City and more

The race for the Premier League Golden Boot is typically competitive, with some of the best attackers in world football playing in the division.

A haul of over 20 goals is usually required to come out on top and there are plenty of candidates in the mix this season.

Harry Kane, Sergio Aguero and Mohamed Salah, who have all won the accolade before, should be there or thereabouts, but there is always room for a surprise package.

Editors’ Picks

Goal is compiling the individual goal tallies for the highest-scoring Premier League players this season and you can check it out below.

Premier League 2020-21 Top Scorers

Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah, Everton’s Dominic Calvert-Lewin and Tottenham’s Heung-min Son and are the early pace-setters in the race for the Golden Boot, having surged out in front in the opening gameweeks.

Leicester forward Jamie Vardy continues to hit the back of the net for the Foxes with regularity, while Manchester United playmaker Bruno Fernandes has been prolific on the scoresheet, thanks in some part to his status as chief penalty taker at Old Trafford.

Harry Kane has rediscovered a scoring touch that faltered in recent seasons and Leeds United will be pleased with Patrick Bamford’s contributions in front of goal.

You can see the top scorers in the Premier League this season below.

*Up to date as of games played on January 26.

Pos Player Club Goals 1 Mohamed Salah Liverpool 13 =2 Harry Kane Tottenham 12 =2 Heung-min Son Tottenham 12 =4 Dominic Calvert-Lewin Everton 11 =4 Bruno Fernandes Man Utd 11 =4 Jamie Vardy Leicester 11 7 Patrick Bamford Leeds United 10 8 Wilfried Zaha Crystal Palace 9 9 Callum Wilson Newcastle United 8 =10 Danny Ings Southampton 7 =10 Marcus Rashford Man Utd 7 =10 Alexandre Lacazette Arsenal 7 =10 Neal Maupay Brighton 7 =10 Ollie Watkins Aston Villa 7 =15 Sadio Mane  Liverpool 6 =15 James Maddison Leicester 6 =15 Tammy Abraham Chelsea 6 =15 Harvey Barnes Leicester 6 =15 Raheem Sterling Manchester City 6 =20 Jack Grealish Aston Villa 5 =20 Roberto Firmino Liverpool 5 =20 Anwar El Ghazi Aston Villa 5 =20 Diogo Jota Liverpool 5 =20 Tomas Soucek West Ham 5 =20 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Leicester 5 =20 Ilkay Gundogan Manchester City 5

Jamie Vardy Golden Boot 2019-20

Jamie Vardy won the Premier League Golden Boot in 2019-20 after scoring 23 goals in 35 league appearances for Leicester.

It was Vardy’s first time winning the prize, having previously come close in the 2015-16 campaign with a tally of 24 goals – one fewer than that year’s winner Harry Kane.

The former England international finished marginally ahead of Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Southampton’s Danny Ings, who each struck 22 times for their club.

Manchester City winger Raheem Sterling followed with 20 goals, with Salah, Kane and Sadio Mane among the chasing pack.

Source of the article

Next Post

'Let's go inside you b*tch' - Ibrahimovic and Lukaku square off in fiery Milan derby

The pair butted heads – literally – just before half-time at the San Siro, resulting in both being shown a yellow card Romelu Lukaku and Zlatan Ibrahimovic were involved in a heated clash on the pitch at the end of the first half in Tuesday’s clash between AC Milan and Inter.  AC […]